Have You Heard of EDM?

How much do you know about EDM, or electronic dance music? Whether it’s a lot, a little or none at all, you’ll want to tune in to this profile of EDM fans. What you see might just surprise you: For example, while millennials under 25 view the most EDM content on YouTube, older audiences are becoming increasingly interested as well. And it turns out that EDM fans are more likely than their peers to be online, engaging in tech-savvy behaviors such as buying music online or following a brand on a social network. See how fans are increasingly turning to YouTube to learn more about music genres such as EDM and the opportunities this creates for brands.

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Targeting Views: TalkTalk Gets More Viewable Impressions With DoubleClick Bid Manager and Active View

TalkTalk Telecom Group, a leading TV, broadband, mobile, and phone provider in the U.K., was eager to boost the viewability of its ads while maintaining costs. Having already implemented programmatic buying to reach potential customers at the exact moment they’re ready to commit, TalkTalk wanted to then ensure its ads were actually being seen by targeting viewable impressions. To do so, the company deployed DoubleClick Bid Manager and Active View. The results speak for themselves: TalkTalk generated 94% more viewable impressions, increased CTR 133%, and lowered CPC by 40%.

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The Biggest Music Genre You’ve Never Heard Of

How much do you know about EDM, or electronic dance music? Whether it’s a lot, a little or none at all, you’ll want to tune in to this profile of EDM fans. What you see might just surprise you: For example, while millennials under 25 view the most EDM content on YouTube, older audiences are becoming increasingly interested as well. And it turns out that EDM fans are more likely than their peers to be online, engaging in tech-savvy behaviors such as buying music online or following a brand on a social network. See how fans are increasingly turning to YouTube to learn more about music genres such as EDM and the opportunities this creates for brands.

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Beyond the Tech Trends: A CES 2015 Recap

Last week, the tech world was squarely focused on Las Vegas for the 2015 Consumer Electronics Show. “CES has become the stage for innovation,” says Chief Economist at the Consumer Electronics Association Shawn DuBravac. “Anybody who’s participating in the future of the digital economy will want to be here.” For those who walked the show floor, there was plenty of technology to take in—from dog collars that connect with your smartphone to belts that automatically tighten (or loosen). But beyond what’s possible, the question is: what will be meaningful? We spoke to DuBravac and Google experts in technology, marketing, and design to get their take on the big trends and what they mean for businesses.

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#TDThanksYou Wins Hearts Using YouTube TrueView

TD Canada Trust created the country’s most successful YouTube ad in 2014. As a result, it increased brand affinity and touched customers at home and abroad with a heartfelt campaign that is the envy of brand managers globally. What is the secret to the #TDThanksYou campaign success? Authenticity and choice.

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Demandware Snags Point Of Sale Provider Tomax To Extend Reach From Web To Store

By Ron Miller Demandware announced today that it bought Tomax, a cloud-based point of sale company for approximately $75M in cash and incentives. According to Demandware CEO Tom Ebling, the acquisition extends Demandware’s reach from eCommerce websites to the brick-and-mortar storefront. Ebling said that they were attracted to Tomax for several reasons. First of all, like Demandware, they are… Read More …read more

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Witness the Fitness: A Look at Workout Trends Across the Country

Many of us make resolutions to get fit in the New Year, but how we shape up isn’t always the same. Google searches for “physical fitness” peak in January every year, and more of these searches are now happening on mobile. What are other rising fitness trends? From coast to coast and everywhere in between, here’s where, when, and how we’re working out.

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2014 Annual Creative Agency Leaderboard

In 2014, agencies embraced online video with longer ads and reached larger audiences than ever. To celebrate the creative agencies that produced the best online video content of the year, we compiled the 2014 Agency Leaderboard, based on the agencies that landed the most ads on our January through November lists. See the standings below.

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2014 Annual Media Agency Leaderboard

In 2014, agencies embraced online video with longer ads and reached larger audiences than ever. To celebrate the media agencies that produced the best online video content of the year, we compiled the 2014 Agency Leaderboard, based on the agencies that landed the most ads on our January through November lists. See the standings below.

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How Maggi Engaged Its Target Audience Over the Common Passion of Cooking and Generated 30 Years of Watch Time

With such high viewership in the Middle East and North African region, (Saudi Arabia ranks first globally), YouTube was the perfect platform for Maggi Diaries to showcase how its brand goes beyond the kitchen while providing a source of culinary inspiration for Arab women seeking to know more, do more, and give more to their families. Through the story of four women traveling across the Middle East looking for new discoveries to inspire everyday cooking, the campaign utilized long-form video content and storytelling to connect and engage with the Maggi target audience at a deeper level. Viewers were able to follow the women on their journey, download recipes, and access video content through a unique custom gadget on the Maggi Arabia YouTube channel.

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The Reimagination of Daily Life in 2015

Technology used to be some esoteric thing that only those guys in the IT department understood. Today, it pervades nearly every aspect of business, and it’s changing faster than you can say “wearable.” That’s why so many of us go to Vegas every January. On the floor at CES, we take in the latest consumer electronics that’ll be hitting the marketplace in the coming year. There are lots of shiny objects, but for smart marketers, it’s more about the consumer than the electronics. All these new products and services, taken together, will have a profound impact on our lives—how we consume media, how we make decisions, what we expect from brands. So what will 2015 bring? And how should marketers view it?

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Obfuscating Blacklisted Words In WordPress With ROT13

By Agbonghama Collins Countless algorithms for encrypting data exist in computer science. One of the lesser known and less common encryptions is ROT13, a derivative of the Caesar cypher1 encryption technique. In this tutorial, we’ll learn about ROT13 encryption and how it works. We’ll see how text (or strings) can be programmatically encoded in ROT13 using PHP. Finally, we’ll code a WordPress plugin that scans a post for blacklisted words and replaces any in ROT13 encryption. If you own a blog on which multiple authors or certain group of people have the privilege of publishing posts, then a plugin that encrypts or totally removes inappropriate words might come in handy Before we begin let’s clear up something about ROT13. It should never be used to encrypt sensitive data. While it is considered an encryption technique, it is the “Hello World” example of encryption. It can be broken extremely easily and thus is never used on data which is encrypted for security reasons. Since our goal isn’t to protect data it is to hide profanity, it will do just fine for our example.

Introduction

ROT13 (short for “rotate by 13 places,” sometimes abbreviated as ROT-13) is a simple encryption technique for English that replaces each letter with the one 13 places forward or back along the alphabet. So, A becomes N, B becomes O and so on up to M, which becomes Z. Then, the sequence continues at the beginning of the alphabet: N becomes A, O becomes B and so on up to Z, which becomes M. A major advantage of ROT13 over other rot(N) techniques (where “N” is an integer that denotes the number of places down the alphabet in a Caesar cypher encryption) is that it is “self-inverse,” meaning that the same algorithm is applied to encrypt and decrypt data. Below is a ROT13 table for easy reference.
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
| N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M |
If we encrypted the domain smashingmagazine.com in ROT13, the result would be fznfuvatzntnmvar.pbz, and the sentence “Why did the chicken cross the road?” would become “Jul qvq gur puvpxra pebff gur ebnq?” Note that only letters in the alphabet are affected by ROT13. Numbers, symbols, white space and all other characters are left unchanged. Read more here:: WordPress – Latest News and Resources

What To Consider When Choosing A WordPress Theme

By Marcus Taylor Economists have taught us that a lot of choice is not always a good thing1. Having many options can lead to “analysis paralysis” and a feeling of being overwhelmed, due to the increased effort required and the level of uncertainty in making the right choice. With a nearly unlimited pool of WordPress themes to choose from, it becomes so easy to feel overwhelmed and resort to inaction or choosing a low-quality theme. In cases where you have a lot of options, it pays to know exactly what you need.
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“Premium WordPress themes” Google search. (View large version3)
Put another way, how much easier is buying a bottle of wine when you know that you prefer reds and that your favorite red is Australian Shiraz? This small amount of knowledge cuts a choice between 500 bottles in a store down to 10. In this post, I’ll share what I believe are the most important factors to consider, so that you know exactly what to bear in mind the next time you’re on the hunt for a good theme. To start off, let’s answer one of the most common questions asked: Is it worth paying for a WordPress theme, or can you get away with a free one?

1. Price: Free Vs. Premium Themes

Several years ago, the price of a theme was a good indicator of its quality. Free themes were often poorly coded at best, and were used to capture sensitive user data at worst. But times have changed, and developers in the WordPress community have created thousands of great free themes to choose from. As such, there is no conclusive winner. Both free and premium themes have their pros and cons, which are detailed below.

Pros of Premium Themes

  • More updates Perhaps the most compelling reason to choose a premium theme is that such themes are typically updated more often. Given the rapid evolution of the WordPress content management system (CMS), having a theme that is regularly updated to patch new security issues is critical.
  • Less recognizable design Because free WordPress themes are so popular, it’s not uncommon for tens of thousands of websites to use the same free one. Premium themes are less common, which set them apart a bit more.
  • Better documentation Most premium themes include a detailed PDF explaining how to get the most out of them. Such documentation is less common with free themes.
  • Ongoing support Premium theme developers certainly offer the best support, usually through a combination of a public forum, live chat and an email ticketing system. Free themes usually just have a public forum for support.
  • No attribution links Many free themes often require a link to appear in the footer crediting the theme’s author. While this is becoming less common in free themes, you can be sure that no links are required in premium themes.

Cons of Premium Themes

  • The price You’ll have to invest anywhere between $50 to $200 in a premium theme.
  • More configuration Most premium themes have their own custom administration panel, with a variety of customization settings, which can take a while to learn and set …read moreRead more here:: WordPress – Latest News and Resources

Joomla will be at the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing – Come and join us!

By ruth.cheesley@community.joomla.org (Ruth Cheesley)

Image credit: Chiara Aliotta

The Joomla! project recently announced their support for the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing as a Silver sponsor. The event, which attracts around 8,000 women from around the world, is being held in Phoenix, Arizona (USA) between 8-10 October 2014.

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The Ultimate Guide To Choosing A WordPress Host

By Mark Gavalda

These days you have an awful lot of options for hosting your website, so many that it’s easy to get lost. How much should you pay? Is support important to you, or are you a tinkerer who likes to do your own thing?

Put in different terms, are you a master chef who can cook a delicious meal with the right assortment of ingredients, or would you rather go to a nice restaurant and just sit back and enjoy the experience?

Let’s dive in.

An Overview Of Hosting Categories

A couple of years ago, choosing a hosting company was a lot simpler. Shared hosting providers had relatively low prices (between $5 and $15 a month), while other companies rented out dedicated servers from $500 a month up to as much as tens of thousands of dollars a month. If you knew your budget, then the decision was easy. Today, not so much.

At the entry level, we still have shared hosting providers and managed hosting services, which are still technically “shared” but which add a lot of value and specialization. We have virtual private servers (VPS), nowadays usually called “cloud servers”. They differentiate themselves based on the virtualization technology that they use and how much computational power and memory are included in their packages.

Finally, we have the option to rent a dedicated server — also known as co-location, whereby you place your own box in a data center. This hasn’t really changed that much, except that data centers have become a lot more sophisticated and computers have become smarter than they were three to five years ago.

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Page Speed Matters. A Lot.

Before your head spins with hosting jargon, let’s talk a bit about page speed. Back in 2010, Google stated that the loading time of your website would factor into your ranking. So, if you care about search engine optimization and free traffic from Google, then you should care about your website’s performance.

Forrester Consulting found3 that about 47% of Internet users expect a website to load in under 2 seconds. Aberdeen Group has data4 that shows that a 1-second delay in page-loading time can result in a 7% loss in conversions. All of these studies were conducted a couple of years ago, and since then the web has only sped up! Or has it?

Look at your website’s loading speed with a tool such as Pingdom5 or WebPagetest6. If it’s above 2 seconds, then you could get a massive increase in revenue just by switching to a better performing hosting package or maybe even switching hosting companies altogether.

How big of an increase? Tagman has the answer7: “Let’s say a website’s average ticket size is $75 and conversion rate is 5%. So if it takes their pages an additional second to load then for every 400,000 unique visits each month, there would be a loss of $1.3m in revenue per year.” As you can see, performance affects the bottom line in a huge …read more

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